Kosher for Passover Quinoa
Updated: February 26, 2015
WHAT IS QUINOA?
Quinoa (pronounced KEEN-wa) is a species of seeds of the Chenopodium or “goosefoot” family, and is botanically related to spinach. It was first brought to the United States from Chile nineteen years ago. Quinoa has been cultivated in the Andes Mountains for thousands of years, growing three to six feet tall despite high altitudes, intense heat, freezing temperatures, and as little as four inches of annual rainfall. Peru and Bolivia maintain seed banks with 1,800 types of quinoa.
Quinoa is Kosher L’Pesach and is not related to the five types of chometz grains, millet or rice. However, because there is a possibility that quinoa grows in proximity to chometz grains and may be processed in facilities that compromise its Kosher for Passover status, quinoa should only be accepted with a reliable Kosher for Passover supervision.
Please click here for illustrations and pictures of quinoa production and here for our 2013 webinar and video.
The following are Star-K certified:
Natural Earth Products (STAR-K-P required)
Ancient Harvest (STAR-K symbol / No P required)
White Quinoa Grains Traditional
Andean Naturals Brand
55lb bag of Golden Royal Quinoa - bearing Star-K P and lot number:
Contact: Michelle Casias, Specialty Commodities
See www.star-k.org/quinoa for more information.